Second Time DUI Offenders
Penalties are steeper if you commit a DUI a second time in Alpharetta. A second offense, however, is generally tried as a misdemeanor offense. The penalty for a misdemeanor in Georgia is a jail sentence of up to one year. If the DUI has resulted is severe bodily injury or death, or even property damage, however, it can be tried as a felony offense. A felony in Georgia results in a prison sentence of more than one year in a state penitentiary. Additionally, someone convicted of a felony DUI might have to pay large fines, get probation, do community service and undergo alcohol abuse treatment. The Department of Driver Services can suspend or revoke your license for up to eighteen months. Additionally, you might not be able to start your car without blowing into an ignition interlock device. Convicted felons cannot vote, own guns, or work in certain jobs.
If you commit a second DUI, you must serve 72 hours in jail. If this is the second DUI within the past ten years, you will face a misdemeanor charge. The penalties include:
- Jail time of 90 days to one year
- Suspended driver’s license (up to three years)
- Photo published in local newspaper as a DUI offender
- 30 days of community service
- Participation in the Risk Reduction Program